Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

The Sage Award

Presented Annually at the CACE Leadership Conference


To Honor Our Own

Rules and Regs and budgets galore

Title 1 duties are these, plus more!

Additions, amendments, and LEA bosses

Make directors think they live in a zoo.

Deciphering memos with mysterious clauses

Can cause our most stalwart to sit and boo-hoo.

Along this path of profound complication

We each have found us a savior.

A Prince Charming or Godmother type

Who can relate to our behavior.

One who gets in there amidst the mess,

And helps us out when things get rough;

One who’s sweet and gentle and kind;

And actually understands this stuff.

A person who’s only a phone call away

A person who’s teetering on the brinkeroo

A person as busy and bothered as us,

Who’s still able to clearly think for two.

A proposal rises now that CACE,

The merry bank of fellow sufferers,

Should honor one who has helped out others,

A veritable Mother Theresa of Bufferers,

You can nominate whoe’er you wish.

Be, it one, or two or three.

We’ll add up to the highest number

And our winner there shall be.

Some words of praise about your candidate

Will help us explain our choice.

It will make the award more meaningful

‘cause it comes from a helped-ones voice.

So please join in to make a pick,

We’re in this to help each other.

What better way then to single out

For honor a sister or a brother.

Come Conference time in December days

At the luncheon – a hearty fare

We’ll give a toast; acknowledge our own

And honor him or her.

CACE congratulates the 2017 Sage Award Recipient

Past Recipients

1993: Richard Buckley  

2006: Pat Lysz

1994: Joseph Counter 

2007: Mary Grassi

1995: John Corcoran  

2008: Katie Shea

1996: Diane Brisson 

2009: Barbara Solomon

1997: Jane Foley

2010: Amy Berdos 

1998: Zita Samuels

2011: Roberta Reingold

1999: Brendan Walsh

2012: Marie Deedy

2000: Karen Matheny

2013: Lucille Boutiette

2001: Anne Marie Carr-Reardon

2014: Gary Reese

2002: Linda McMenimen

2015: Susan Levine

2003: Debbie Spinelli

2016: Karen McCarthy

2004: Paul Zinni


2005: Joan Fitton